I had no idea there was another famous racing horse besides Seabiscuit until I saw this film.

Synopsis: Despite her inexperience with horse-racing, Penny Chenery Tweedy with trainer Lucien Larin take care of “Secretariat” a thorroughbred race horse who goes onto to win the Triple Crown.

Pros

I enjoy the cameo from the real life “Penny Chenery Tweedy” at the end.

It was cool to see the photos and short bios from the real life team behind Secretariat.

Secretariat’s birth-He was adorable as a baby foal.

Secretariat’s racing scenes.

Cons

I understand the movie was cut to fit into two hours however, I would’ve like to have seen more background on Penny’s life before having her family. Her backstory wasn’t fleshed out. I needed a couple scenes of her life before becoming a house wife.

The side characters were underdeveloped.

Conclusion:

You’re better off checking out the book; Secretariat: The Making of A Champion by Bill Nack and watching the documentary for full story context. In addition to researching Penny Chenery Tweedy’s biography.

Leave a comment